Learn to build – naturally – with Cob!

Please click here for the latest workshop offerings

Want to learn how to build your own house with human-power!?

Want to build with cheap, reusable, natural materials that are earthquake proof, fire proof, pest proof, and proven to last for centuries?

Look what community can build!Cob is the term for an earthen building technique that mixes sand, clay and straw and is sculpted on a wall. No forms or other wooden structures are needed to build with cob.

From June 29 to July 4th, I’ll be hosting a cob workshop on Lasqueti Island. The cost of $600 covers all meals (3 hot, fully organic, vegan/vegetarian, delicious meals per day), on-site camping with running water, and expert instruction by Steve Lay. Barters or trades to reduce the workshop fee are welcomed.

Each evening, we’ll also have a discussion with hands-on activities. Topics will include sustainable and ecologically-sensitive transportation for individuals as well as builders (we’ll have a night of bike repairing) and how to build a roof with cedar shakes (we’ll learn how to make shakes, too).

Travel days are Saturday, June 28th (with a welcoming, organic and vegan dinner included) and Saturday or Sunday, July 5 or 6th (a farewell breakfast on the 5th is also included).

Everyday (Sunday to Friday), we start with an organic, wholesome breakfast, followed by an hour of interactive instructionals, then 3 hours of hands-on learning with a yummy snack break.

After a hot organic, vegan lunch, we have 3 more hours of hands-on learning and building, followed by a break to swim and/or wash up for dinner.

The host site provides examples of:

  • how to live off the electricity grid,
  • how to live well without internal combustion engines,
  • how to harvest and use rainwater, and
  • how to make it easy to harvest hu-manure.

The workshop buildings will provide opportunities to learn:

  • Cob makes it easy and cheappassive solar heating design,
  • how to install windows and doors,
  • how to wire your earthen building for solar electricity,
  • how to build a cedar shake roof,
  • how to sculpt earthen materials, and
  • how to design beauty and function right into the walls of earthen buildings.

Human-powered building is hard work. But since there are no machines or motors on site, it is a safe place for anyone, including children, and interesting conversation and laughter is common. This building site, and the materials for this building, were selected to make it as easy as possible to build an earthen structure

Beautiful for humans, beautiful for the planetThis workshop is family-friendly but space is limited. Reserve your spot soon by emailing bike@resist.ca.

You, too, can experience the magic of building with cob in community! See you there!

10 Responses

  1. The cob building workshop sounds fantastic. You must have had a great time. Are you planning to have another in 2009?

  2. Any plans for 2010 yet,?
    ( I know it’s a long way off but I’m trying to plan a trip to that part of the world next summer…)

    thanks 🙂

  3. Hi Zoe,

    Thanks for asking…I’ve been trying to email you but my emails keep bouncing back…grrr.

    I don’t have specific dates yet for 2010 but I expect at least two workshops, one of which could be 2 weeks in length.

    Please contact me again if you’d like to talk further about next year.

    Thanks!

  4. I really like this, did you also know the campaign
    to Protect Rural England and Keep Britain Tidy are fully behind bringing in
    the 5p tax on all carrierbags. As a consequence of this much more
    people will be buying their own bags and taken them into the supermarkets.

  5. I blog often and I really appreciate your information. This great article has really
    peaked my interest. I am going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new information
    about once per week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  6. Outstanding. I agree.

  7. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this weblog
    and I am

    inspired! Extremely helpful info specifically the

    last section 🙂 I maintain such

    information a lot. I was looking for this certain information

    for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  8. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  9. Wow, this post is nice, my sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going to let
    know her.

Leave a Reply

